Tea Tree oil for cold sore – part 2

on the second day of my erupted cold sore, third day since I first felt it tingling, I saw that this one had huge potential to get infected.

I had a hunch it was going to be bad because of the combo of sunshine + sun Burn + mega stress. In the past, I’ve had to take antibiotics for cold sores that had the swelling I was seeing in my lip.

But as you can see from my photos, the tea tree oil seems to have halted the virus quickly, and the whole day I was gently dabbing away crystals and sloughing off damaged skin.

I took care to keep a balm on my lips, and I really like the Burts Bees one, as it is thick and not liquid. A liquid has more chance to spread the virus. But I do make sure and warm it a bit in my hand before I apply it.

tea-tree-oil-for-cold-sore-day-2am
Morning of the next day – I dabbed some Tea Tree Oil on (gently) right after I snapped this.

I have to also acknowledge that, despite knowing the consequences, I had to go back to the pool and swim for a few hours. I wore a hat and faithfully reapplied my sunscreen and lip balm, but my lip still absorbed more UV.

Morning of Day 3, after spending the day before at the pool and applying Tea Tree Oil
Morning of Day 3, after spending the day before at the pool and applying Tea Tree Oil

So a blister did form at the end of the day, making it a bit harder to treat. I kept applying TTO but there was some pain from the blister. I put some aloe after sun gel with lidocaine on it and felt instant relief. The aloe formed a layer of blue over the top that I had to gently peel off later.

The biggest challenge is in keeping the blister on my lip as long as possible to keep the raw nerves protected. And so I just tap the oil on using my ring finger instead of rubbing it in.

I bought my tea tree oil locally, and Walgreens doesn’t sell it online, but Amazon does.

image of bottle of Tea Tree Oil
My little bottle of Tea Tree Oil is worth more than gold

And this is what I use over the oil to help protect my lip from more UV:

 

My trusty tube of lip balm
My trusty tube of lip balm

I had to go swimming on day 3 as well, and even though I took care again with a hat, shade and heavy-duty sunblock, just having a blister get wet makes it far less stable as a cover on my really raw cold sore:

End of third day of visible sore, and after 2 days of sun, swimming and Tea Tree Oil
End of third day of visible sore, and after 2 days of sun, swimming and Tea Tree Oil. It looked bad and felt worse, but it had stopped swelling and buzzing.

I’m pleased with how the oil has worked to speed the healing of my lip, even as I made it worse by going into the sun and a pool for 4 hours two days in a row.

On day 4 I stayed home and avoided going to the pool because my blister had come loose and my lip was bleeding a little. I just didn’t want to expose that fragile area to more UV and heat.

Now I’m on day five, stayed in again and all the swelling is gone. There is a slight scab where my lip bled yesterday, but it’s small enough I could cover it with lipstick now.

Going out in the sun was a bad idea. I honestly believe if I had stayed in on days two & three, the tea tree oil would have shrunk the sore without breaking the skin. (That’s my goal every time since it heals much faster.)

Leave a Reply

