DIY Reusable Frozen Foods Bag from plastic bags

I read an article this morning that reminded me I’ve been meaning to get some reusable grocery bags made.

After watching an episode of Vet Adventures when Luke cuts open a cow and pulls out about 35 lbs of plastic bags, the kiddoes and I decided we really wanted to change our habits!

I went ahead and started getting some supplies together but haven’t found a tote pattern I really like yet. So, in the meantime as I was researching I found this post about fusing together plastic bags to make a new “fabric” that can be sewn together.

What a cool idea! I had to try it.

So I just jumped in and did it. I folded out 8 bags, and used my rotary tool to quickly cut off the bottoms and tops. Then I individually slit the middles to make each one a long rectangle.

I laid them all flat together and put parchment paper under and on top. I grabbed my iron, set it to the highest heat setting under the steam ones and then gave it a go. I kept the iron moving and checked as I went to see if it was fusing. It was!

Now, it was also shrinking, so I may have my temp set too high, but I wasn’t worried about how it would look. It was kinda shriveled and melty in places, but the layers were fusing.

Once I finished the top, I flipped it over and repeated the efforts on the bottom. And then I had a long single piece of “fabric” to work with. As I looked at it, I folded it in half and it kind of resembled a mailing envelope. And that’s where I got my idea:

I was going to use it to make a removable sleeve for my frozen groceries!

I just fused the sides and then trimmed off the edges. Then I sewed a quick seam up each edge and around the top to reinforce it.

For the cover, I cut some cotton from an old sheet I use for projects like this, and then I did the same thing: Cut it on the fold, then sewed a seam up each side. At the top, I flipped the edge down a little to make a small cuff and then sewed a seam to hold it. Turned it inside out and put the plastic sleeve inside:

frozenbag-inner-1

Perfect fit!

Now, for the closure, I poked a little hole in the top cuff and used my yarn needle to pull through a piece of cotton yarn. I tied it in a knot and put one in the end. Then I added a little button on the front of the cover so I could just wind the yarn around it to close it.

 

frozenbag-outer-1

This one looks pretty plain, I agree. But you could easily make it fancier by using this tutorial for printing on fabric. I did a test piece using this same old sheet using a graphic the hubs is fond of:

fabricprintingwithfreezerpaper-1

And it turned out to be really easy. (The hardest part was finding the freezer paper. I think I found it at walmart for about $7~.) The colors weren’t super saturated, but I can easily see that if I planned ahead, I could print “FROZEN” or “ICE CREAM” in a novelty font, or a cute graphic on the fabric before I sewed it up. (Another great idea is to use a novel print fabric.)

Next up, I will tackle actually making the grocery totes!

Would love to see what you come up with too-

Love,

Momma

2 thoughts on “DIY Reusable Frozen Foods Bag from plastic bags

    1. I put the layers of bags between two sheets of parchment paper, and made sure my iron never touched the plastic. My iron was set to about 4, just below the steam settings and it took a few passes to get the plastic warm enough to fuse. Hope that encourages you to give it a try! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

